Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Mass = Sacrifice of Christ

The great Sacrament of the Eucharist was:

- foretold in the past

- promised by Christ

- fulfilled in our parishes.

Sacrifice requires 3 elements:

1. Priest = Jesus (ordained Priests)
2. Altar = Calvary (my Lavington parish)
3. Victim = Christ (host)

In the Mass the Liturgy of the Eucharist consists of Three distinct phases:

1) Offertory: we offer ourselves with Christ to God the Father.
2) Consecration: we relive the death of Christ on Calvary now sacramentally re-presented on the altar
3) Communion: we draw spiritual life for the soul from the glorious Body of Christ - a foretaste of and preparation for our own resurrection.

1 comment:

Dawn said...

Perfect. Thank you for this beautiful reminder.